Home > Crime Fiction, Uncategorized > Burke Fan Club!

Burke Fan Club!

I have mentioned before that James Lee Burke for me is the Hemingway of crime fiction and I maintain that. I need my monthly dose of Burke – picked up ‘Cadillac Jukebox’ from the Dave Robicheaux series.

I read his books not so much for the plot but his lyrical prose, hard-hitting dialogues and some of the most complex characters (Dave and Clete Purcel) in crime fiction. His plots tend to be very similar across books but they rarely affect you as one gets caught up in the pleasure of reading his prose.

If you have not read James Lee Burke, please do yourself a favour and start it – You will  not regret it. Authors like him what makes reading such an enjoyable and learing experience.

Rating: 5

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment